Election 2018 logo

Check this page for unofficial Avery County election results as they are reported by precincts tonight. Polls close at 7:30 p.m. These results are for Avery County only and do not include full results for offices that include multiple counties.

(19 out of 19 precincts reporting)

U.S. House of Representatives

-Virginia Foxx: 4,892 votes

-D.D. Adams: 1,534 votes

N.C. State Senate District 46

-Art Sherwood: 1,547 votes

-Warren Daniel: 4,812 votes

N.C. House of Representatives District 85

-Josh Dobson: 4,950 votes

-Howard Larsen: 1,439 votes

District Attorney District 35

-Seth Banks: 5,348 votes

Avery County Board of Commissioners (3 seats)

-Blake Vance: 4,354 votes

-Wood Hall (Woodie) Young, Jr: 4,323 votes

-Dennis Aldridge: 4,505 votes

-Richard (Dick) Crews: 1,647 votes

Avery County Clerk of Superior Court

-Lisa F. Daniels: 5,533 votes

Avery County Sheriff

-Kevin Frye: 4,831 votes

N.C. Supreme Court Associate Justice Seat 1

-Barbara Jackson: 2,672 votes

-Christopher (Chris) Anglin: 2,068 votes

-Anita Earls: 1,502 votes

N.C. Court of Appeals Judge Seat 1

-Andrew T. Heath: 4,742 votes

-John S. Arrowood: 1,540 votes

N.C. Court of Appeals Judge Seat 2

-Jefferson G. Griffin: 3,364 votes

-Tobias (Toby) Hampson: 1,405 votes

-Sandra Alice Ray: 1,265 votes

N.C. Court of Appeals Judge Seat 3

-Chuck Kitchen: 4,528 votes

-Michael Monaco Sr: 312 votes

-Allegra Katherine Collins: 1,396 votes

N.C. Superior Court Judge District 24 Seat 1

-Gary Gavenus: 5,172 votes

N.C. District Court Judge District 24 Seat 1

-Larry Leake: 2,165 votes

Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor

-Bill Beuttell: 3,988 votes

-Ann Coleman: 3,429 votes

Write-in: 113 votes

Constitutional amendments


For: 4,814 votes

Against: 1,419 votes

-Victims rights

For: 4,850 votes

Against: 1,328 votes

-Tax rate cap

For: 4,512 votes

Against: 1,706 votes

-Voter photo ID

For: 4,700 votes

Against: 1,602 votes

-Judicial vacancies

For: 2,284 votes

Against: 3,596 votes

-Board of Ethics and Elections

For: 2,684 votes

Against: 3,178 votes

-Avery County Local Sales and Use Tax

For: 2,166 votes

Against: 3,970 votes

NOTE: All vote results are unofficial until county board of elections completes canvassing on Friday, Nov. 16. For more information and a full report, pick up the Nov. 14 print edition of The AJT, or click to www.averyjournal.com.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.